Beautiful

When I was sixteen, my high school boyfriend gave me a bottle of perfume. It was “Beautiful” by Estee Lauder. It was Valentine’s Day and he handed it to me while I was in the front seat of his car. (I was a sophomore and he was a senior. He was voted class clown. Funny, yes. Romantic, not exactly.)

But little did he know that I would fall in love with the scent and wear it until I was thirty-two years old.

Now, I am not a creature of habit. I embrace change and seek it out, but with my perfume I was the exact opposite. Wearing the same scent year after year, and LOVING it, I could care less if others didn’t. The smell simply made me happy. But some people called me out on it and I started to think, hm…. maybe I should branch out there, try something new…

So, last year, I decided, okay, I will stop wearing Beautiful, even though I had been doing so for the past SIXTEEN years. I went to Sephora, and God bless them, they offer you the opportunity to spend the money you would on a new bottle of perfume but before committing to one scent, they give you twelve samples of certain popular sprays to try and then once you decide on the one that you want, you just come in and get it. I thought, this is perfect for someone like me. And I tried all twelve scents. Over and over. Not crazy about any of them, thinking they don’t smell nearly as good as “Beautiful”, I forced myself to decide on one. So, I went with “Bright Crystal” by Versace.

And I’ve been wearing that scent and a couple of others I’ve picked up along the way for the past year… but they just don’t do it for me. Not only do I not get the comments from others that I smell great, I don’t think I do either. As crazy as this will sound, “Beautiful” was made to mesh with my body and none of these other perfumes were. That’s the bottom line.

So at the end of 2010, which I like to think of as “experiment with perfume” year,  I decided, enough. I tried to change and it didn’t work. I love and will always love “Beautiful.”

I went onto the esteelauder.com site, bought the perfume I’ve missed and waited for its arrival.

Today, it came.

I sprayed it on quickly. Smelled it immediately and realized, yes. This is the one.

And that’s when it hit me.

This is what I’m waiting for in terms of men. heehee. He needs to be my “Beautiful” perfume in a non-literal way and it needs to feel just like this.

But until he comes along, at least I have my scent back…

Leave a Reply

