Acceptance

I was going to start this blog off with a story about how my instinct was right, how I was able to remember something even though my mind couldn’t, how my hands danced from memory…

But then things didn’t go as planned.

My three year-old nephew loves to swing my giant teddy bear around by using the Beatles tie I’ve wrapped around its neck. This morning, I saw it, and realized it’s no longer a tie knot but rather, just a solid, thick knot. So, I untied it and proceeded to drape the now very long and stretched out tie around my neck thinking I would have no problem remembering how to tie a tie. For Christ’s sake, I worked at a job where I had to WEAR a tie. Granted, this was about ten years ago, but still, I thought it’d be like riding a bike and it would all just come back to me.

Nope. Not even close.

I tried a good solid fifteen times before I finally huffed and threw the tie down on my bed. I continued to unpack, did some laundry but as soon as I walked back in my room and saw that damn tie, I found myself trying again. And by this point, I had thought about what a great blog post it could be, writing about instinct and how even though it’s been years, my hands were still able to tie a tie even though my mind lagged behind it, but again…

Nope. Not even close.

I tried though, and tried and tried and then finally got in front of a mirror, where I channeled up my days at I’Cugini, where I would stand in their employee bathroom at the age of twenty-five and tie that tie around my neck five days a week. Ahhhh.. It didn’t exactly work. But I don’t like to fail at things, so I kept at it.

And this time, I did come close. But by no means did I tie this MF’ing tie.

So, now my blog post is about acceptance.

I have accepted I cannot for the life of me

remember

how

to tie

a tie.

2 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. Hahaha, I had to come to the same realization with playing the flute!!! About two years ago I picked one up to discover, the instrument that I practiced 5 days a week for 6 YEARS, I could not longer play. It was actually quite heart-breaking and embarrassing. I did NOT tell my mother, who paid for all the lessons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

